This article by Stephen Gilburt was first published by The
Enfield Society in newsletter 173, Spring 2009.
Forty Hall was built between 1629 and 1633 for Sir Nicholas
Rainton (or Raynton), who was Lord Mayor of London in 1632. Forty
Hall was owned by members of the Meyer family from 1799 and by
members of the Bowles family from 1895, before being sold to Enfield
Council in 1951. The house is usually open to visitors from Wednesday
to Sunday, free of charge.
Manor House to School. Recent Research on Enfield Palace by Ian Jones, Chairman, EAS. As part of our continuing Tudor contribution to the Stories of Enfield project, our Chairman will be giving an update on his researches into the history and architectural development of this now almost vanished building, whose...
An afternoon show with tea and cake. BBC, Psycho, George Formby, Jane Russell, adverts, Eartha Kitt, tombstones, cricket, Oh Calcutta!, Spike Milligan, Sooty & more. £5 on entry; just turn up. For more information: 020 8375 4120. All money raised goes to Age UK Enfield
A talk by Joe Studman. London has been circled many times. The Romans built a wall around Londinium but The City boundaries were extended by chains in the 13th century and earthworks in the 17th. Then of course we have the roads, railways and footpaths. This presentation looks at these...
A talk by Simon Saints. Simon is an ambassador for the almshouse movement. His presentation will include pictures set to music and the talk will cover a 1,000 years of fascinating alms history and showcases the many almshouses locally, the UK and world wide.
An afternoon show with tea and cake. Hitchcock, Wurlitzers, Al Jolson, usherettes, Hollywood, Michael Caine, Walt Disney, Pathe News, Oscars, Pearl & Dean & more. £5 on entry; just turn up. For more information: 020 8375 4120. All money raised goes to Age UK Enfield